UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt von 2011 bis 2020

UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt von 2011 bis 2020

The United Nations have declared the international UN Decade on Biodiversity from 2011 until 2010. This decade offers the huge opportunity to increase the public awareness for the protection of biodiversity which forms the natural basis of our lives.

“When we talk about Germany, it has never been more important to campaign for natural biodiversity now and in the future. For years I have been travelling through the wildest forests, moors, heathlands and rivers of our country and have witnessed how endangered biodiversity is. Randomly placed energy facilities or an unbalanced intense agriculture without hedges but with monotonous corn or rape fields do not offer a habitat for wildlife species and they don’t offer much recovery potential for people.

Without biodiversity in forests, moors and lakes the country will become purely technically oriented and boring. Is that what we want? Do future generations want that? Where in Germany would we be going on holidays? I unconditionally support the preservation of biodiversity.”

What does “biodiversity” mean and why do we need it?

Biodiversity is all that contributes to the diversity of living nature: different species of animals, plants, fungi and microorganisms. This includes interactions with the abiotic environment, within and across different species as well as genetic diversity within the species and the diversity of the habitats. Wildlife species as well as livestock breeds and cultivated plants form part of biodiversity. 
Biodiversity is the basis of securing long-term survival of human life on earth. There are many ecological, economic, social, cultural and ethnic reasons for its conservation: an intact biodiversity is far better able to adapt to changing environmental conditions, an important prerequisite in the face of worldwide climate change.

Economically significant achievements of nature are for example the self-purification capacity of waters, the air purification through the filtration performance of trees or the natural soil fertility. Many important industries as well as countless jobs in agriculture and forestry, fishing, tourism and healthcare depend directly or indirectly on an intact and diverse biosphere. Aspects of experiencing nature, recreational activities and quality of life of the living environment speak in favour of a sustainable conservation of biodiversity.

Which are the main objectives of the UN Decade for Biodiversity?

Biodiversity is decreasing worldwide and also in Germany. The current extinction rate exceeds the estimated natural rate by 100 - 1,000 times and is caused by human activity. The international community has realized that vigorous countermeasures have to be taken against the loss of biodiversity. Hence 1992 the UN Convention on Biological Diversity was passed. Germany is contracting member state of this convention. From 01/11/2011 until the end of 2020 there is additionally the UN Decade for Biodiversity.

With the Nationalen Strategie zur biologischen Vielfalt (national strategy for biodiversity) an encompassing and challenging strategy for the implementation of the UN Convention regarding biodiversity exists in Germany since 2007. The strategy contains the goals until 2020 and presents a programme for society as a whole (www.biologischevielfalt.de). 

The implementation and dialogue process of this national strategy also serves the objectives of the UN Decade for Biodiversity. Additionally, within the framework of the UN decade further initiatives are now being launched in order to promote public awareness regarding the value of biodiversity and the responsibility for the protection and the sustainable use of its elements.

Norbert Rosing auf:

Norbert Rosing
Contact form

Mitgliedschaften

  • NationalGeographic National Geographic
  • Gesellschaft für Bild und Vortrag E.V. National Geographic

UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt von 2011 bis 2020

Die Vereinten Nationen haben die internationale UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt von 2011 bis 2020 ausgerufen. Die Dekade bietet auch die große Chance, mehr Menschen für die Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt, unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlage, zu sensibilisieren.

„Wenn wir über Deutschland reden, war es nie wichtiger, sich in der Gegenwart und auch in Zukunft für die natürliche Artenvielfalt einzusetzen. Seit Jahren bereise ich die wildesten Wälder, Moore, Heiden und Flüsse unseres Landes und sehe vor Ort, wie bedroht die Vielfalt in der Natur ist. Beliebig platzierte Energieanlagen oder einseitig intensive Landwirtschaft ohne Hecken, dafür mit monotonen Mais- oder Rapsäckern, bieten wildlebenden Arten kein Zuhause mehr und bieten auch für die Menschen wenig Erholungspotenzial.

Ohne Artenvielfalt in den Wäldern, Mooren und Seen wird das Land technisch und langweilig. Wollen wir das? Wollen das die zukünftigen Generationen? Wo wollen wir dann noch Urlaub machen im eigenen Land? Ich setze mich ohne Wenn und Aber für die Bewahrung der biologischen Vielfalt ein.“

Was bedeutet "Biologische Vielfalt" und warum brauchen wir sie?

Biologische Vielfalt ist alles, was zur Vielfalt der belebten Natur beiträgt: Arten von Tieren, Pflanzen, Pilzen und Mikroorganismen – einschließlich der Wechselwirkungen zur unbelebten Umwelt, innerhalb der Arten und zwischen den Arten – sowie die genetische Vielfalt innerhalb der Arten und die Vielfalt der Lebensräume. Zu der biologischen Vielfalt gehören wildlebende Arten ebenso wie Nutztierrassen und Kulturpflanzensorten. 
Biologische Vielfalt ist die Grundlage einer langfristig gesicherten Existenz des menschlichen Lebens auf der Erde. Für ihre Erhaltung gibt es vielfältige ökologische, ökonomische, soziale, kulturelle und ethische Gründe: Eine intakte biologische Vielfalt kann sich besser an sich verändernde Umweltbedingungen anpassen – eine wichtige Voraussetzung angesichts des weltweiten Klimawandels.

Wirtschaftlich bedeutsame Naturleistungen sind beispielsweise die Selbstreinigungskraft von Gewässern, die Luftreinigung über die Filterleistungen von Bäumen oder die natürliche Bodenfruchtbarkeit. Viele bedeutsame Wirtschaftszweige und zahllose Arbeitsplätze in Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Fischerei, Tourismus und Gesundheitswesen hängen direkt und indirekt von einer intakten und vielfältigen Naturausstattung ab. Auch Aspekte des Naturerlebens, der Freizeitgestaltung und der Lebensqualität des Wohnumfelds sprechen für die dauerhafte Sicherung der biologischen Vielfalt.

Was sind die Hauptziele der UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt?

Die biologische Vielfalt nimmt weltweit und auch in Deutschland stark ab. Die derzeitige Aussterberate übertrifft die vermutete natürliche Rate um das 100 – 1000fache und ist durch menschliches Handeln bedingt. Die Völkergemeinschaft hat erkannt, dass gegen den Schwund der biologischen Vielfalt energisch gegengesteuert werden muss. Deshalb gibt es seit 1992 das UN-Übereinkommen über die biologische Vielfalt der Vereinten Nationen. Deutschland ist Vertragsstaat dieses Übereinkommens. Vom 01.01.2011 bis Ende 2020, also für die nächsten 10 Jahre, gibt es zudem die UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt.

Mit der Nationalen Strategie zur biologischen Vielfalt liegt seit Ende 2007 eine umfassende und anspruchsvolle Strategie zur Umsetzung des UN-Übereinkommens über die biologische Vielfalt in Deutschland vor. Sie enthält die Ziele bis zum Jahr 2020 und ein stellt ein gesamtgesellschaftliches Programm dar (www.biologischevielfalt.de).

Der Umsetzungs- und Dialogprozess dieser Nationalen Strategie dient auch den Zielen der UN-Dekade Biologische Vielfalt. Zusätzlich werden im Rahmen der UN-Dekade nun weitere Initiativen gestartet, um das gesellschaftliche Bewusstsein für den Wert der biologischen Vielfalt und die Verantwortung für den Schutz und die nachhaltige Nutzung ihrer Bestandteile zu fördern.

Norbert Rosing auf:

Norbert Rosing
Kontaktformular

Mitgliedschaften

  • NationalGeographic National Geographic
  • Gesellschaft für Bild und Vortrag E.V. National Geographic